Annoyances.org
Home » Windows XP Discussion Forum » Message 1211215810 Search | Help | Home
  
re: Are major web sites sending out malware?
Monday, May 19, 2008 at 9:50 am
Windows XP Annoyances Discussion Forum
Posted by bob wells (1234 messages posted)


geek9pm,

What security Software are you running? Norton?

It's no surprise to me that problems come up on PC Tools. It's a Commercial Software 
Company  that employs various means to redirect you to their site.

If you do a google search, and select from the SPONSORED results you can end up at 
PC Tools even when the Sponsored link says nothing about PC Tools. IMHO that's Malware.

I can't recall accurately,  but memory says they provide Free Trials that lead you 
to believe  your System is corrupted just so you'll try their Software.

The Trial usually ends with lots of problems found but the only way to remove the 
detected problem is to Purchase their Software. Maybe it'll fix a few minor problems, 
but anything important requires a purchase.

This is Pure Bait & Switch tactics; Offer it for free trial but you can't really 
evaluate it unless you purchase the program. How long do you think it'll take to 
get your money back?

I have tried several of their products but have, (so far), found a Freeware tool 
that works better.

I have no idea what you were looking for so I cant reccomend anything Software wise, 
but if you are still looking for an Auto Run Editor, try download.com or CNET. Both 
are a pain in the A$$ to search but you can find Commercial, Shareware or Freeware 
versions of tons of software. At least you can see what each program is and get Information 
and user opinions and ratings by CNET or Download.com.

I wouldn't trust the reviews too far but the Rating Systems seem to be fairly accurate 
over all. Keep in mind, if it's for Sale, "CAVEAT EMPTOR" Let the buyer beware.

BW



There's nothing to learn from someone who already agrees with you. _________________________________________________________


On Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm, geek9pm wrote:
>While looking for a good Auto run Editor, I got a warning
>from my
>security software on my XP Home computer. It said some bad thing
>was coming from network.aptimus.com and I did a Goggle on the domain
>and go this:

:Google of www.aptimus.com > title="Google of suspect site looks OK" src="http://geek9pm.com/bad_site_A.png"
> style="width: 516px; height: 394px;">


>


>OK, so next I click on a link and get this:


>


>www.aptimus.com has been blocked. > title="Warning from PCTools." src="http://geek9pm.com/bad_site_B.png"
> style="width: 516px; height: 394px;">


>


>SO, my questions are now: 'Is this very rare? Can I expect
>more of
>this? Was this a default setting for PCTools? Is that site really a
>danger to XP users? Should I stop using PCTools?'
>




Written in response to:
Are major web sites sending out malware? (geek9pm: Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm)

There are presently no replies to this message.

All messages in this thread [show all]
-Are major web sites sending out malware? (geek9pm: Sat, May 17, 2008, 12:41 pm)
*re: Are major web sites sending out malware? (Rich Kurtz: Sat, May 17, 2008, 5:31 pm)
*re: Are major web sites sending out malware? (Steve: Sat, May 17, 2008, 5:40 pm)
*re: Are major web sites sending out malware? (bob wells: Mon, May 19, 2008, 9:50 am)
Return to the Windows XP Discussion Forum

All content at Annoyances.org is Copyright © 1995-2008 Creative Elementtm All rights reserved.
Please do not plagiarize; redistributing these pages without permission is strictly prohibited.